About Us

Church History

It all began on Friday, February 19, 1960 at 8:00 pm, at the New Pleasant Grove Baptist Church. At this meeting the Mt. Calvary Missionary Baptist Church was organized and was to be located at 3525 Branch Street, Sacramento, CA under the leadership of Rev. Sim Walton, Jr. Rev. Willie Baker was elected Asst. Pastor. 


Under the leadership of Pastor Walton, Mt. Calvary MBC grew exponentially - old auxiliaries increased in number and various new auxiliaries were established. In a short period of time, the ministerial staff doubled in membership. God called eleven men to the ministry under the leadership of Pastor Walton. From the eleven, three became Pastors: Rev. E.L. Varnado, Rev. Marine Erby and Rev. Leuvell Johnson. Fourteen new deacons were added to the ministry, nine new ministries were created, and the first combined Men and Women's Day was established.


Over the next quarter century Mt. Calvary's congregation grew so large that the church had to relocate three times. Mt. Calvary's first location was 3525 Branch St. Within four years, the church's address went from a larger rental location on Cypress Street, to the purchases of 3744 Belden Street and later, our present location, 3407 Altos Avenue. 


On October 13, 1987, God sent His death angel to collect our special leader from among us. The work He had givedn Pastor Sim Walton, Jr. to do for his family,  community and Mt. Calvary was finished.


God sent Rev. Bryant C. Wyatt to pastor Mt. Calvary MBC in August, 1988. Shortly thereafter, the First Annual Founder's Day was established to honor our late founder and appreciate our first lady emeritus, Sis. Mary Walton. Also in 1988, the Sim Walton, Jr. Scholarship Fund was established. 


Under the leadership of Pastor Wyatt, many ministers and deacons were added to the roll of Mt. Calvary. The Jr. Deacon Board was established. The Mt. Calvary Missionary Baptist Church East Campus (formerly known as Greater Light of Life Baptist Church), was established in Rancho Cordova. 


As we celebrate 50+ years of love, humility, hard word and prayer, we thank God that, "We've Come This Far by Faith," and God is truly in control. To God Be The Glory!

our Leadership:
Dr. Bryant C. Wyatt
Rev. David Smothers

Trustee Ministry Chairperson


Bryttina Wyatt

Minister Of Music


Michele Woodson
Rev. Bryant K. Wyatt

Church Administrator


Carolyn King

Financial Secretary


linda white.jpg
Gladys Deloney

Usher Ministry President


Dec. Karl Vinson

Deacon Board Chairperson


Linda White

Events Ministry Chairperson


Dr. Cynthia Vanzant

General Mission President


Dr. Latrece Smothers

Youth Ministry Leader


Zelda Johnson

Nurses Ministry